Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

(WIP) Aztec Lizard Warrior; Mudbox comp entry

Hey everyone

So about 6 months ago I tried to organized a pretty cool Zelda style RPG game with some people from my class, but it didn't really work out. A few things here and there got done but we never saw anything in game really. One of my concept artists, however, made a design for a character that I completely fell in love with. He developed this concept of a Horned Lizard as an Aztec Warrior.
lizard.jpg

I only heard about this comp a couple weeks ago, and even though I'm new to sculpting, I'm going to go *ALL* out and develop this character as best as I possibly can. So, without wasting any more of your time with text, here are the concepts drawn completely by Vincent Angerosa (Also if you like his concepts, he IS looking for commission work :) ).

LIZARDconcept2.png
LIZARDconcept.jpg
These two were done over summer, but I commissioned him to develop it a bit further in model sheets. He did this one a few days ago and is getting me an armored version tonight or tomorrow that I'll post up too
LIZAR2D.jpg

I haven't stepped into mudbox yet, wanting to get the base mesh for his body and armor complete first. But, with that said, as I post along please please please give me critique! I'll do my best to adhere to everything that is said because I really want to do my best. I'm not entering this contest expecting to win, but I'm going into this as if I was working somewhere and I was given this to do. I'm really looking forward to developing him and going to put all my heart into it

I forgot to put image heavy in the title, sorry :\

Replies

• Cortes
    Offline / Send Message
    Cortes polycounter lvl 6
    I just gotta say I'm definitely going to follow this one. Already I love the helmet design for this dude. Can't wait to see it textured!
  • SaferDan
    Offline / Send Message
    SaferDan polycounter lvl 14