Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Drakon creature sculpt [WIP]

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Shiniku polycounter lvl 9
Hello all. This is my first time doing a creature model. It's something that's always kind of intimidated me and I need to get over it. Also, my first time working off of a concept beside my own. As such I'm not too familiar with proper protocol in terms of using professional concepts, so let me know if I'm stepping out of line.

Anyway, here're the concepts I'm going off of, by Carlo Arellano. I've been told this is the concept for a creature in one of the god of war games - if I had known that when I started I probably wouldn't have gone with it. I just thought the concept was cool.
drakon_2_by_Carlo_Arellano.jpg
Drakon_1_by_Carlo_Arellano.jpg

Here's my progress on the sculpt:
z_basshsots1.jpg
z_basshsots2.jpg
z_basshsots3.jpg
z_basshsots4.jpg

Comments/critiques?

Replies

• haikai
    Offline / Send Message
    haikai polycounter lvl 8
    Looks pretty good. One thing I'm interpreting differently from the concept is that I'd make his lower body a lot more narrow than the upper. I get the impression that most of his mass is up front, and from front view his legs probably wouldn't be hidden behind his arms quite so much because of that.
  • Razgriz
    Offline / Send Message
    Razgriz keyframe
    Hey Luke, looking good.

I would agree with what haikai mentioned, I didn't notice it in class, but I think it's most evident in the top/down views.