Home General Discussion

Need help catching mesh/texture thief(s)

Hello everyone. I was told that there are some 3D developers from published games that frequent these forums and I'm hoping to get in touch with some of them in particular, but any help at all that I can get would be appreciated in catching one big thief, but also others that I come across, and hopefully also find a person that might be supplying people with stolen materials.

I'm a 3rd party developer on IMVU, I primarily stick to creating clothing meshes, you all probably know about this but recently I've come to find that there are programs that people can use to rip meshes and textures from video games and programs. Most of the time thieves on IMVU steal from other IMVU developers and we just have to tell each other and file our own reports, but....

2 weeks ago I stumbled upon a person's catalog with over 1,100 textured meshes, at least 75% of which are ripped from video games such as Lineage II, Aion, Shaiya, TERA online, Jade Dynasty, Land of Chaos, Soul of the Ultimate Nation and many many others, primarily online games.

This person has been making a significant amount of money claiming these as his own works and in spite of the fact that I have contacted some of the game publishers and some of them have taken action to remove things from this person's catalog, he still continues to publish more stolen material ever week.

Over 400 stolen meshes/textures have been removed so far, I've reported some myself that I can recognize but since they are from so many different games (and for some reason it's really hard to find places with screenshots of all armor and/or monsters in a game), I'm stuck now for IDing any more of the items in this person's catalog.

So what I'm looking for is...