Home General Discussion

really cool explanation about piracy

Replies

• eld
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    eld polycounter lvl 18
    greevar wrote: »
    So people might one day have 3D printers at their convenience (I think it's unlikely)...

On the contrary, people will have easy way to download schematics and just print figures or parts of certain designs without much cost, it's a constantly improving technology.

I mean, you could use the tech to print your own designs for things, but why should you? there are plenty of available designs out there already, I guess designers just have to find a new market strategy?

The thing is that it becomes a scenario on a level where I as a game-designer could have made the next "deus ex", but it wouldn't matter, because I'm not good at alternative marketing and bussiness strategies.

There's no longer any worth in what was originally the product, but just the things you sell around it.
  • r_fletch_r
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    r_fletch_r polycounter lvl 9
    Having worked for a company that was compromised by game piracy, my feelings are pretty much this:

If developers don't make money on a game to make more games, they stop making games. Pirate all you want, but don't complain when all you have left are console games that all play the same, take no risks, and are developed by one of three giant companies.

Thing is these sorts of people just blame the evil capitalist publisher then go back to spouting rhetoric on internet forums.
  • greevar
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    greevar polycounter lvl 6