Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UDK] The Pit (Working Title)

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Ryan Smith polycounter lvl 11
Hey Guys,

I've started a new environment piece that i'm going to use to dump all of my technical environment art skill into.

I've been working professionally at Digital Extremes for 6 months now, and I've learned a helluva lot from some of the most talented people I've met in the industry so far. Furthermore, I've been submerging myself into the world of advanced HLSL shading, and I've been developing some really useful techniques for adding extra levels of realism to materials that make procedural blending and variation almost effortless.

This scene will serve me as a compendium for all of my technical and environment modeling knowledge, and I hope this thread will inspire and spur many discussions on how things were made.

One disclaimer: I'm using a higher polycount on most props than would generally be accepted in the industry. It's my way of having fun with my art, and shouldn't be considered as an acceptable professional practice. One should always strive for optimization.

So I'll kick the thread off with some highpoly renders i've recently finished. I'll add more when i get home from work, and discuss layout and some of the pre-production procedures I went through.

Background on Environment

The environment is currently called "The Pit". The universe would take place in a pre-industrial era, where stone and metal was handcrafted for architectural and decorative purposes. Magic is practiced by the rare few who are able to master the complexity that it requires. The pit is an underground prison that was constructed to hold in the land's most powerful criminals and villains. However, because it's impossible to make someone "unlearn" magic, the only possible remedy for containing these dangerous mages is to lock them in a cell constructed with magical elements that will help keep them imprisoned.