Home Technical Talk

Blender Mega Thread

Replies

• eedobaba7726
    Offline / Send Message
    eedobaba7726 polycounter lvl 9
    This is interesting to read from the point of view of a blender user.
    I've been working with blender for 3 years and have almost never found it limiting or hard to use. I tried maya recently (free trial) and it was so wrong and hard to use. Things very simplified in blender were way too complex, and I very much wanted to simply write it off as "worse".
    But taking a look at some opinions from the 'other side', I see that it's really just what you learned first that determines what you think is better.

And now I see that non-blender users are praising 2.5. I never realized it before, but I guess 2.5 is a step in the direction of how things are done in other programs.
    And you'd be surprised how backwards and wrong longtime blender users are finding 2.5.
    I tried the newest working build recently, and I could barely get anything done. It was almost as vexing as using maya was.

So, my conclusions on this is that's it's all really perception. Blender can do everything that other programs can, but it's interface isn't worse, it only sets it apart.
  • ZacD
    Online / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    There's no reason to be different for difference sake, if there's a reason, like its faster or easier, sure.
  • Ben Apuna
    I believe for a 3d app (or any app) to be considered good, it must allow the user to easily create custom hot keys and transfer those settings from one machine to another and also from one version of an app to the next version.

I come from the side that thinks everyone should set up their own hot keys based on their own personal workflow. The other side being the one that believes a user should stick with stock hot keys so that they can easily move from one machine to another and not get lost.