Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Henrietta Futuristic Machinegun Wip

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
fabiomsilva polycounter lvl 8
Hi everyone
I'm fairly new to hardsurface modeling and perhaps there are many things I have wrong with this one.
This is a gun I'm modeling for a character of my new demoreel. It's an original design inspired in real world weapons as well some sci-fi ones.

I wanted to create the most detailed weapon possible, that looked futuristic while maintining a sense of reality.

I'd like to know what you think of the modeling before I UV and texture it.

Looking forward to you guys helping me bringing this to next level.

many thanks

henriettarender.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

wirestagg.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

F

Replies

• marq4porsche
    Offline / Send Message
    marq4porsche polycounter lvl 9
    Personally I think it would look a bit cooler with a longer barrel especially if it's an assault rifle. For a Sub machine gun it's fine I think.
  • ZacD
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    Whats with all these sci fi guns that look more like space ships than weapons? The front barrels look more like flash lights, there's a lot of smoothing errors (I could circle them all but I think you can tell). How are you suppose to aim with this thing? There's no iron sights, but I think that's a weird scope camera thing you got going on, but it looks too big IMO. Looks completely uncomfortable and awkward to hold (with both hands) and fire from the shoulder (which looks like the main focus of the gun with that weird giant scope).

I know I'm being tough, but this model needs it, there's some parts I really like, but there's a lot of issues and stuff that needs work/thought all the way through.
  • doeseph
    Offline / Send Message
    doeseph polycounter lvl 7
    Err, I think you're being a bit too harsh with the design of the weapon ZacD. As far as "sci-fi weapons" go, this is a pretty tame look in my opinion.