Home General Discussion

Attracting a quality artist to your WIP Game.

anomandarius
polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
anomandarius polycounter lvl 10
First post here. I've lurked from time to time just to be wowed by the creations of some of you guys.

I'm not trolling for free work to be done on my project but that IS the nature of my question.

Some of you guys are probably loaded up with good paying work and many of you have incredible portfolios, so I understand that many people that read this would never consider working without money up-front.

As an independent game developer I'm at a stage where my game play is well developed, the code is tight enough to perform on the target platform, and I understand the engine well enough to give an artist the code support he needs to render high quality artwork.

As you guys are likely aware, there are thousands of posts all over the web asking for Artists, Riggers, Animators, Texture Artists, etc. to sign on to their project in exchange for "possible future royalties" when the game goes commercial.

These are exciting times for indy developers because the engines the big boys use are becoming freely available to us all.

I'm using the UDK currently, and Crytek's Engine #3 will be rolling out on a similar licensing deal soon. So anyone that can fog a mirror now has access to what was this time last year a million dollar toolset.

However, creating a AAA quality game requires an insane amount of artwork.

You don't just need models, you need skinning, normal maps, baked AO, and quality animation. To further exacerbate the issue, when you have an honest intent to go commercial you need to insure that your entire toolchain is legitimate.

Since the UDK ActorX import tool only supports MAX and Maya native formats that means finding an artist with legitimate access to a $3,000 piece of software.

Now to the question.