Home General Discussion

rejecting self destructive input

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
John Warner polycounter lvl 18
Hey guys, we've all had the experience of being subjected to input that we don't want. I used to be the type of guy to self sacrifice and accept everything, just to keep the peace. I have fortunately snapped and am this way no longer.

I'm finding that my strategy for rejecting shitty input, however, is very primitive, simply because i've never done it before. in my gut, i feel like saying "fuck you! eat shit!" but obviously that's ridiculous, and not at all tactful. I also suspect that in my recent state, i may be more prone to see insults when none exist. maybe they do though. It's hard for me to tell right now.

SO lets say i come to you and say "that painting that you did of that warrior with an axe is okay for young people, but you should paint something more befitting of your age. do up a illustration of some nice people playing cards out by the beach or something like that -- something more mature"

and then you say -- ??

in my gut, i want to say "take your shitty opinion about what's mature and what's not and stuff it up your conservative unenlightened so-and-so. hows about I do what i want and you shut the fuck up?"

this does NOT help anything, i think. I would like a new strategy.

Replies

• MALicivs
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MALicivs polycounter lvl 15
    in that case, do what your gut tells you.
  • LoTekK
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    LoTekK polycounter lvl 17
    If someone came up to me and asked me that exact question, worded in that manner, I'd say the gloves are already loosened (calling me immature, basically coming in on his/her high horse). A tactful response, however, might go as such:

"Blow me."

Ok, maybe not. Possibly more along the lines of: