Home General Discussion

Creative Fantasy Writing

Hello. I've been writing this small peice over the past few days as I have been pretty bored and just want to relax.

So... I am a writer by no means and I'm sure most of you will know that I do not spend alot of time doing so. (The majority of my writing is on these forums in the form of BS : ) Haha )

But anyways, I'm a very big fantasy reader and I have read the Omnibus of Orcs. I'm a big nerd when it comes to fantasy and it has inspired me to write my own peice.

I have taken a screenshot of the first page of my short story and hopefully I can recieve critics. I am not looking to become a writer but I think I have some sort of talent and I am also passionate about writing.

20t17ia.png

Replies

• danshewan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    danshewan polycounter lvl 8
    Not that I'm suggesting aping Chuck Palahniuk in any way, but he does have some interesting things to say regarding writing - specifically, how lazy people can be when writing and not even realize it.

For instance, your lieutenant asks something anxiously - how does someone ask something anxiously? Of course, we intuitively know because we've experienced anxiety ourselves, and we attach that emotional experience to the situation we're reading about.

However, from a writer's standpoint, this is shockingly lazy, and even more common in the majority of fiction out there, regardless of genre. Personally, I think it's more interesting to show the character's anxiety, and allow the reader to infer the emotional content themselves, rather than holding their hand constantly. This technique, which some writers including Palahniuk and his mentor Tom Spanbauer refer to as minimalism, can also offer a more visceral reading experience.