Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

NWS: Scrotum grenade - First model :p crits ?

Hey guys, im new to the whole modelling scene :P im more of an animator by hobby. But i want to get good at game asset modelling, since most jobs require multiple tasks :p

87894904.jpg

Right, where do i go next ?

Oldest to newest:

Mace:
http://img180.imageshack.us/img180/958/mace.jpg

Well:
http://img143.imageshack.us/img143/9942/wella.jpg

Cardboard box:
http://img8.imageshack.us/img8/9112/cardboarde.jpg

Replies

• Mime
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mime polycounter lvl 14
    When i look at it i get the feeling i'm gonna burn my hand if i grab it.
    Handle is WAY to bright.
  • iWeReZ
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lol, Its meant to look like the wood has been cut away, you know how its brighter inside ?

Guess i failed :C
  • fmnoor
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    fmnoor polycounter lvl 17
    If it's your first model, why not focus on getting it to look good in the max viewport instead? That doesn't look like wood has been cut away, it's like a glow stick with a spikey ball attached to it.

I'd darken the specular map on the wood ~_~

You've also got this real pixelated look on the actual ball itself - how much UV space does it have?
  • iWeReZ
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Im a complete noob at everything, this was more of an experiment :P

thanks for the tips.
  • badcop
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Is this supposed to have a hand painted look, or is it supposed to look like an actual mace?

And tone down that gradient on the chain it is much too strong.
  • iWeReZ
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    badcop wrote: »
    Is this supposed to have a hand painted look, or is it supposed to look like an actual mace?

And tone down that gradient on the chain it is much too strong.

I honestly dont know, really.

I painted and photo sourced the diffuse.

I dont even think the specular works XD