Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: LongJh

Hello, Polycount!

So uh, new guy here! Well, actually I've lurking for quite some time in this forum, and finally decided to make this is my first post. My name's Junhong, 20 years old, from Singapore. And I'm hoping to hone my drawing and design skills right here in this sketchbook.

I was fortunate enough to go a digital media design school, where they taught drawing, colour theory, 3D, animation, etc. Halfway through I got hooked onto digital painting and concept art all the while doing 3D stuff for school projects (I specialized in game art and design, which focused a lot of 3D and production). So when I graduated my portfolio works were just all over the place - I had digital paintings here and 3D environments there and all sorts of random stuff.

I still want to do concept art and design. So after graduation I tried to work on some digital paintings.

And well, all I found out was that my skills were seriously lacking and that it was pointless to do all these paintings if I didn't even get the basics of drawing, anatomy, light and colour right. I did some practicing by myself for awhile but I found it was difficult (and boring) doing it alone. Also it was quite hard to judge my work for myself and to see what are the aspects that I need to improve on. So I decided it was time to stop lurking around and to get some serious help!

So that's why I decided make a sketchbook post here in polycount. You guys were a great help when I was doing 3D, and the community here is amazing. I know this is mostly a 3D-oriented forum, but I hope you guys will be willing to guide me along. And any critiques, tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Aaand so, here's the stuff I did recently. I started with a bunch of studies figure studies from photographs, movies and even game screenshots lol. And also a bunch of 30 second poses. They all came out.. well, not so good. But I'll keep practicing!