Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

UDK – Demon’s Souls Based Environment

Hello everyone!

I’m a third year university student that should be graduating in a couple of months and I’m trying to get my portfolio together. Here is an environment I’m building at the moment, it’s based on a piece of concept art from demon’s souls. The main things it’s missing at the moment are landscape textures and foliage and the lighting is far from right. Let me know what you think, any comments/crits would be much appreciated, thanks!

Concept:
ruins_drawing_deer_temple-1280x800.jpg

Screenshots:
1.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg

Replies

• onionhead_o
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    onionhead_o polycounter lvl 16
    tree branches look a bit thick
  • Iciban
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Iciban polycounter lvl 10
    could i see the wireframe?
    and I agree with the branches. Its really thick
  • UnrealAnimation3D
    damn that tree branch is fine its thick! LOL great seen bro!
  • iniside
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    iniside polycounter lvl 6
    Branches should be thick. But also should be longer.
  • Chriss
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Been working on my dissertation for the past few days but I’ve had a play with the trees and hopefully they are better now. Looking back at them now I completely agree they were way too thick. Fresh pair of eyes was exactly what I needed thanks guys!
    5.jpg
  • SirCalalot
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SirCalalot polycounter lvl 10
    Your modelling work is great!

As I've asked in a few threads lately, how close are you wanting to mimic the style and feel of the concept?

ruins_drawing_deer_temple-1280x800.jpg

If you look at the lighting of the original image, it is quite pale and cold - almost white (with a slight twinge of yellow). This picks up the greens and greys in the foreground and contrasts the cool (very pale) blue/greys of the background.