Home General Discussion

Can someone please advise on upgrading my system?

Hey!

I was wondering if someone could please assist me in this matter..
I'm studying / working with 3d models, animation and all else that is Polycount :)
In addition to these demanding uses I also play a lot of games and am into mods and custom items..

Recently I've been thinking on upgrading my rig to somewhat more current stabdards.
This is my current system:

- CPU: Q6600 (2.44 if I'm not mistaken)
- GPU: ATi Radeon HD5850 (512mb I think)
- RAM: Corsair 4gb
- HDDs: two rather old WD ones..7200rpm I think.
- Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-x38-DS5
- PSU: Corsair 550w

I've been thinking on upgrading the GPU to the new HD7970 which is supposed to be quite great and useful with its 3gb of dedicated memory..

May I ask if that's a wise decision? Maybe I best upgrade something else? The motherboard and CPU perhaps? My goal is to slowly upgrade my system into more of a beast, lol..
I'd highly appretiate any reply, advice or recommendation :)

In addition, my apologies if Im posting in the wrong place ^^

Thanks ahead and have an awesome day!

Replies

• Wombatinahat
    I would say upgrading your GPU would be a good idea. The CPU you have is fine and can easily be overclocked to 3ghz without any trouble. You could consider a SSD harddrive for your OS and programs which will considerably speed up your system. I would hold off upgrading the rest until the new Intel ivybridge chips is released and then you can upgrade your motherboard and switch to ddr3 ram.
  • EarthQuake
    What OS? If you don't already have Win7 64 that would be a good place to start, up your ram to 8gb would be a cheap quick upgrade, Win7+SSD makes a pretty nice difference as well, I have a very similar setup to you(was running XP64) and added a 120GB SSD + Win764 and it was like buying a new computer.