Offline / Send Message
ScottHoneycutt polycounter lvl 14
Screenshot03-1.jpg

RenderCrate.jpg

Facebook_Door.jpg

block.jpg

PlantsPhoto.jpg

CratePhoto.jpg

I am going to post a few basic props on this thread to get some feedback as to whether or not I'm on the right track. I'm a freelance animator in advertising who wants to be in games as an environment artist. I've been trying to figure this game art thing in free time for a while now between work and a second degree. I just put together a new PC which can run Mudbox so I'm finally making a push to get this portfolio of game assets going. This is my start. I'm using 3ds Max 2009 (for these), Maya 2011 (for others), mudbox 2012, UDK, Photoshop.

1. I'm wondering how to best display the objects (background and scene-wise). I've seen single color and grad backgrounds done. Is that a comp in Photoshop or from the editor?

2. Am I right in assuming I should be simply doing a "PrtScn" of the in game look for the final image (that's what I did above)?

3. I'm really struggling with this whole low-poly count thing. Could I have gone higher with those plants? I'm thinking PS3/360. Should I just model things how I know and worry about the count later because it's really just slowing me down worrying about it?

4. Anything else I'm crucially missing let me know. I know these aren't "good"...I'm just getting my feet wet.

Replies

• Shiniku
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shiniku polycounter lvl 9
    It looks like you can afford to sue more tris if you're going for current-gen level assets. I mean, your first two assets are just boxes. That said, I guess I can't say that for sure until we actually see some wireframes. The optimization of your UV space is leaving a lot to be desired on the plant and box.
  • ScottHoneycutt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    crateWire.jpg

The top one is just a couple of boxes. Thank you.
  • ScottHoneycutt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    WallWeb.jpg