Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UDK] Abandoned robot factory

Hey guys,

Long time lurker of this forum but this is my first time posting up any work (a little nervous!).

This is the first fully textured environment I've built so there's been something of a -massive- learning curve for me. I'm hoping to get some feedback here so I can continue to learn more and push the environment to higher level of finish :)

The concept itself was based on a painting I did a few months back, though I developed the environment a fair bit from the original painting.

Athisfeet.jpg

I'm not sure of the best way to texture the robot as it's so large. I'm thinking this method [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zoHMtVjoFtk"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zoHMtVjoFtk[/ame] might be my best option.

bunny-factory-wip-01.jpg

bunny-factory-wip-02.jpg

bunny-factory-wip-03.jpg

bunny-factory-wip-04.jpg

Still a lot of work to go but all feedback is welcome!

Replies

• Mio
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mio polycounter lvl 13
    love the concept! good progress so far!
  • imyj
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    imyj polycounter lvl 8
    Stumbled upon your original concept before :) Look forward to seeing how this turns out!
  • toxic_h2o
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    toxic_h2o polycounter lvl 8
    Ahh that concept is awesome! looking forward to seeing it in udk. :D
  • Mooglesarelittle
    Thanks for the responses guys :)

I decided to split the robot's body into 2 2048x2048 textures and paint the textures as normal. Texture painting is not something I have a huge amount of experience with but I'm pretty happy with what I have so far.

bunny-bot-texture-wip-01.jpg

bunny-bot-texture-wip-02.jpg

bunny-bot-texture-wip-03.jpg
  • Mooglesarelittle
    Oh! forgot to mention, the white parts of the body will eventually have a reflective material applied in UDK.
  • SsSandu_C
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SsSandu_C polycounter lvl 13