Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WIP Old Man Character Modeling

Hello everyone!
I'm really new to CG and I'm practising in the use of Maya since a few months.
I hope you all could gimme some good advises for a character I'm working on.
It's the first time I go for an organic mesh and I'm not sure everything's allright before beginning the UV creation

The character is an old man and I modeled each parts separately, to combine them into a single mesh at the end

headvr.th.png
handrg.th.png
jumperqr.th.png
trousers.th.png

I hope to receive your critics to make it better

Replies

• lordsme
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    lordsme polycounter lvl 8
    Nice work Diego,
    I think you should work more on the hands, they look not correct to me.
    Thumble shape looks weird, index seems not right and middle look a little to big!
    Wrist seems thin too.

Please post more!
  • lordsme
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Face proportions looks strange too.
    Eyes seems too big,they do look like a child eyes.
    Wrinkles shouldn't be modeled in the base low poly mesh, add them later in the hi-poly mesh using ZBrush or Mudbox. Moreover they do look "cartoonish"... is that you intended to do?
    The upper part of the ear lacks of some loop, there's an ugly corner that seems too visible.
    Bottom seems too flat.
    The end of the trousers near the shoes seems too soft.

Would you post some picture of the shoes topology too?
    What about polygon count? How much tris are you using for the whole character?
  • amicochips
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Here you have the hand corrected.
    About the topology I cannot understand what it could be a correct one 'cause it seems everyone has its own ideas on the net and in manuals. Anyway this resembles closer Donna's hand one.

handx.png

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

This is a screenshot of the feet/shoes

shoesd.png

• amicochips
    Options
    Offline / Send Message