Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] – Alvaro Canizares, Character Artist

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
ClatoVerata polycounter lvl 7
Hi all, after a lot of effort and a few months, I´ve finished my new Demoreel, lets see if it have quality enough to open some door into de game industry ;)
I would like to know this, if it have level to start sending it to some studios. Or if I should change something.

http://vimeo.com/31876198

Thanks guys.

Replies

• Cheynecg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    haha nice ending...no body messes with the Jesus man.
  • benclark
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    personally I would take that first guy off of your reel. It doesn't sell you very well in my opinion

If you're looking for a job as a character artist I wouldn't start your reel off with a character that has no arms or legs - anyone hiring you wants to see if you can model joint topology and understand anatomy

Also the lighting doesn't really work for me. Use the lights in your scene to sell the forms and create a bit of atmosphere. Just now everything is being hit by 100% ambient light
  • wretchedgoat
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    wretchedgoat polycounter lvl 8
    I would also suggest not putting a character that was done along with a tutorial on your reel. The barbarian you have looks far to similar to this
  • ClatoVerata
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks you all for yours advices, it´s true that the first model isn´t the best example for a character artist. When I´ll go finishing more characters I´ll replacing those models. I have been learning new thing all along the project, so there are some things like the textures, lighting...that I´ve to improve with new designs and practice.

I will post my progress soon.
    Thanks, I appreciate your comments.
  • LRoy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    LRoy polycounter lvl 10