Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

High-Poly Radio WIP

RoxyPox
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
RoxyPox polycounter lvl 6
Howdy! I'm new to polycount and I wanted to start getting critiques on some of my projects.
I'm attempting a high poly model of a vintage radio, which I will later create a low poly of and bake the normal map in. The project is for a class for creating game assets in 3DsMax.
I still have to work on the back of the radio, along with all the little details and such. I also have to create the mesh inside of the radio.
If anyone has suggestions on how to create the rest of the details or improve the model in general, it would be much appreciated. old-radio1jpg

EDIT: Model progress. Finished texturing for now. I'd still appreciate critiques!
Goodcell_Roxanne_Radio_FinalUDKjpg

Replies

• Pivot
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Pivot polycounter lvl 6
    Everything looks more tall/skinny than the reference, which actually looks more short/wide. Especially the base.
  • fuzzio
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hi dude, welcome to polycount. Ok let’s start on your model here, you seem to have a good start but there seems to be a few things that are quite off to me. First question are you using actual reference template in either maya or 3ds max? Because the actual proportion seems to be off. Looking at the actual frame of you radio I get more of a organic type feel to it rather than a hard surface one. What i have done is taken your picture of added notes on which parts need to be looked at and tweaked. You have the foundations of the model done you just need to keep looking at your reference image and noting down what is missing and what needs to be tweaked. Anyhow keep going and regularly update so we can help you more

yPgvX.jpg
  • RoxyPox
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fixed the proportions. I do not know why I didn't fix them before. A case of poo brain probably. X)