Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

RTS units

Jeckari
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Jeckari polycounter lvl 11
Hey, this is my first post here and also my first major 3D art undertaking. So, yeah, any criticism or tips would be greatly appreciated!

I'm a fan of the game Achron (http://www.achrongame.com), which is an RTS with time manipulation as the driving mechanic. It's quite a trip to play it online, because each player messes with the timeline and things get deliciously convoluted.

Anyways, so I love this game, but I can't stand the models. They're not just bad, they're incredibly bad. So I said to myself, well, damn it, I can do better than this. Now damn it Jim, I'm a programmer not a 3D artist... but here's my attempt.

The following images are the basic building models I've finished. I plan to texture them last, all as a group, so these are just plain AO renders with some colors slapped on to help me visualize final texture blocking.

The first image is the factory, a basic garage type thing. It builds mid level units.

factory15.gif

Next up, the macrofab. It builds high-end units.

macrofinal.gif

The importer, basically a supply depot (the lore is that the rounded thing is complicated equipment to recieve units via teleportation, while the L thing is a barracks)

importer14.gif

Finally, what I'm working on right now-- the turret. It's based on the idea of quantum levitation, with the turret capable of firing in any direction rapidly (hence the alien looking design).

turret4.gif

I've also modeled an armory (the low-level infantry trainer), but it doesn't fit in with the current theme, so I'm going to redo it.

Replies

• Jeckari
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Finalized the turret model.

turret14.gif
  • tonysladky
    Options
    Offline / Send Message