Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Game Environment Help

Hi guys,
I am planning on making a grand entrance hallway/lobby area, run down/abandoned type style. Will post progression but there's one major thing I could do with some help on regarding Texture maps.

When creating an interior whole scene, should everything e.g stairway walls floor props be on one map alone and what size? Or can I map everything separate..

E.g Staircase 1024x1024
Piano 1024x1024
Walls & All floor & Ceiling 2048x2048

This is my first time creating a whole scene and I just can't find any info anywhere!

Another thing.. If I was going to make some foilage/weeds etc would they also be mapped separate?? Basically treating everything like a prop.

Really appreciate any help!!

jp

Replies

• 8-bit kid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    8-bit kid polycounter lvl 8
    Hmm, it depends on what kind of environment your building and for what purpose. Working with limitations is what makes Game Art unique and texture sharing becomes important when you'd like to save on resources, such as iPhone/Android development, maybe even some console development, where putting different objects on the same map in encouraged, but, are you building this to render? in an engine? Need more info...
  • Paunescu.Daniel
    every object should have its own texture, the size of the texture is determined by how big the object is or how visible it is in the scene (or how important)
    Edit: also depends what kind of environment? will it have gameplay or just a presentation kind of video, or static renders?)
  • pookanimation
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Well basically I'm trying to get a full scene into my portfolio, to eventually get me a job in games. So it is technically not for an engine, but I want to do it as if it was, so I know I'm on Industry level.

For example, Should I make the staircase then texture that on it's own map?
  • iniside
    Options
    Offline / Send Message