Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Soldier game model

polygon
Offline / Send Message
Dagon polygon
This is around my third try and modelling a soldier that could be usable in a game or put into a game engine, Please help offering suggestions and things I've modelled wrong etc I've been using blender for 5 years but still not as good as all you guys are. I had to remodel the whole soldier at least 3 times since either the geometry was really ugly or I had gotten the method wrong the method I used now is to model everything lower poly although I have heard of the method to model high poly sculpt it nicely and then retopologize but I can't achieve that since I just started sculpting about a week ago. I scrapped the old one because the topology was really bad since I modelled it mostly with subsurf which didn't turn out well and can't be used for games and I had also modelled the body underneath the clothes which made it incredibly annoying since I had to adjust the clothes all the time to solve clipping issues and then I realized I didn't need anything underneath... So I remodelled everything again. The new one has a base mesh head and a basic hand modelled already but I haven't attached them yet because the hands are still "straight" and don't have a natural hand "pose" and the head's neck is too far back making it look weird when connecting it to the body.

Here is my new soldier compared to the old one:

New:
Soldier.png
Soldier2.png
Wire-1.png
Wire2.png
Soldier4.png
Soldier3.png

Old:
marine-1.png

Replies

• chrisradsby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    chrisradsby polycounter lvl 14
    How are you going to go about it? These days a lot of the workflow is spent inside sculpting programs. However I think it's starting to look pretty good already just as a low-poly with a diffuse texture on it.

Right of the bat I'd say that I feel like the feet need to be bigger, guess it depends if you're gonna put some boots on the fella :) Good work so far!
  • Dagon