Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Texture/Material Studies

Recently I have been doing HP objects, unwrapping them and baking them and moving onto another project neglecting texturing. I have very little texturing experience and what I do have is very weak and the goal of this thread is to help change that by posting texture/material studies and gaining feedback from the community.

With that being said open the flood gate, here is my first study a metal wall panel.

No specific references for this. outside metal is supposed to be brushed metal. The middle panel is a matte painted piece. I referenced Philipks tutorial as I worked through this here http://www.philipk.net/tutorials/materials/metalmatte/metalmatte.html

metal_perspective.jpg
Metal01_flats.jpg
metal_perspective_repeat.jpg

Replies

• Amadreaus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Metal tends to rely on lighting in many cases to fully realize the material sense. If you can show this perhaps repeating on a wall with some localized light sources, it'll help to show how your spec is working within the material.
  • Perfectblue
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    @Amadreaus, went ahead and added a repeat tiling image of the wall with additional lights as you requested to the original post.
  • tharle
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    tharle polycounter lvl 9
    firstly i'd say that the round bits in the corner of the panel look too big - looking at the tutorial i think they supposed to be fixings and you wouldnt get fixings that big imo. I'd guess they were made of metal too but you have them completely flat in your specular map.

talking of your spec map theres a lot of colour in it. some surfaces do have coloured highlights (mostly metals like brass or copper) but generally i'd just stick with simple b/w spec and just colour sparingly to boost its effect.