Home Technical Talk

Zbrush model is pure black after GoZ

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
DietCoke polycounter lvl 7
UPDATE: Just for anyone else who is having this problem, it doesn't have anything to do with GoZ or maya, it is related to layers. I can reproduce this pure black thing every time by just making a layer, then turning off record mode, then turning record back on. BOOM. Super black. I still don't have a solution, but at least there is a known cause.

Hey guys,

I used GoZ to send a mesh over to maya, messed with the topology a bit, then sent it back to zbrush. After it subdivided and all that the model is completely black. Most of the shaders create a black silhouette, and some of them give some specular highlights. The model's color is set to pure white.
I tried restarting, thinking maybe it was just a glitch of some sort, but no dice.

Any ideas? I am pretty new to Zbrush, so it's very possible that I am just being dumb and missing something very simple.

Oh I forgot to add that I am using Zbrush 4 on Windows 7!

Replies

• DietCoke
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ok I just noticed that if I do a "fill object" with RGB checked, it turns these four little holes on the nose to whatever color I had selected. These four little holes are errors from the retopologizing. This leads me to think it's some sort of inverted normals issue...
    Ok, flipped the normals. All that did was make the eyeballs visible through the mesh.
    I will flip them back and try "double sided"... That didn't do anything.
    Weelll sheeyit.
  • DietCoke
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I now realize that I can't sculpt on the black parts (99% of the mesh), only those weird holes in the nose that showed up after the retopo. What Twilight Zone have I stumbled into here?
  • ghib
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DietCoke wrote: »