Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

The Pirate

Hello I made low poly pirate model and then I handpainted it.

textures are 2048x2048 but i wll set it on 1024x1024 maybe 512x512

Right now Im thinking for the brows... Because if I make some blendshapes like blinking with eyes it will moves also this brown eyepatch line... Probably would be better If i modeled it.

polycount: Tris: 11944
Faces: 5998

Lights: No lights

Any critics, suggestions are very welcome!

cheers!

ddfa1i.jpg

2dhzgnd.jpg

2dc8tq9.jpg

anms29.jpg

2944civ.jpg

2clyko.jpg

Replies

• Twister3
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Twister3 polycounter lvl 12
    I'm no character artist but 12000 tris for this shape is definitely too much. Wherever there's a form that doesn't bend you can think about collapsing the edgeloops there (except if it supports a certain silhouette). I think you could get a similar result in form and style with half the amount of tris.
    For the hand have a look at Ben Mathis' example for topology of hands.
    I think you don't need as much tris in the face as few of them serve the function of maintaining the silhouette. You definitely don't need to model out his ears (or rather as much as you have now) or his earring because nobody is ever going to notice those.

I noticed that you currently are only using quads. This limits your topology and absolutely multiplies your tri count. Since this is the game mesh it's going to be triangulated in the engine anyway so using triangles here is absolutely okay (if not necessary).

Remember to delete faces that are hidden by others (for example those under the hat) except if you plan him to lose his hat at some point.

I think your textures would benefit a bit from tightening up. The creases in the trousers or the jacket seem a bit blurry. A 512x512 texture is the maximum resolution for this kind of stylized character and textures.

Apart from that: Cool Character, I immediately tought of him being in a DS mobile or a DS game.