Home General Discussion

What to do when practice doesn't make perfect?

Looking for thoughts and tips on this.

Basically, I've been doing life drawing every day for about 6 months now, and went to weekly classes for a couple of months before that. I do it mainly for fun, to improve my appreciation of anatomy, and I suppose with the hope of one day translating it to my 3D work.

The thing is, I'm not noticing any improvement and that leads me to believe I'm either going wrong in my approach, or missing some key techniques.

My daily routine is usually 10 mins of 30 sec and 2 minute gestures, then a couple of 5 mins, then a few 10 minute poses which I will finish up a bit if 10 minutes isn't adequate.

I partner this sketching with studying anatomy too.

I thought i would just improve over time, but I'm really not, like not even slightly, my stuff looks the same as it did 6 months ago.

Replies

• fmnoor
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    fmnoor polycounter lvl 17
    10 minutes is not a lot of time when you're learning, spend more. I know sessions can go upto 2-4 hours with breaks.
  • Sean VanGorder
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Are you showing it to anyone to for critique and feedback? You can do something a thousand times, but if you're doing it wrong each time without knowing, then you'll never improve.
  • Ferg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ferg polycounter lvl 17
    A) that saying should be "practice makes marginally better"

B) That said, fmnoor is totally right, you need to be regularly doing over an hour's practice per day if you really do want to improve. Also helps to get in the habit of doodling whenever you've got spare time... on the bus, at the coffee shop, between classes, etc. Make it a habit instead of a chore and the work does itself.