Home Unreal Engine

Beginners questions for modular environment on UDK

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Gooner442 polycounter lvl 6
I am just getting into UDK and want to build my own modular environment. Just have some questions I'd like to ask, I hope you can help.

1. In your 3D app (3DS max for me) do you create only modular parts for your scene and then fix them together within UDK? ...or fix up your scene in Max using instances and then import it all into UDK in one go, does UDK then read all the instanced parts as modular assets?
2. I understand that the grid is very important and you must stick to powers of two. As you model perhaps floor tiles and set your grid to 128 for example, with smaller assets do you change the grid as you build, to a grid of 8 or so?
3. From looking at assets built for UDK (Gears of War II for example) they are very elaborate, presumably not all assets fit to the grid?... is it only neccessary to have the ends of the modular asset snapping to the grid?
4. Is there a workflow that is recommended?.... I read of one where you block out in UDK using the building tools(don't remember what they're called) and presumably save all the seperate modular assets under different file names. Then create all the assets in 3DS Max and go back to UDK and reimport them over.. does that make sense.

Any clarification needed let me know, I don't (clearly) know too much about UDK... any help appreciated!!

Cheers 8)

Martin

Replies

• sprunghunt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sprunghunt polycounter
    Gooner442 wrote: »
    I am just getting into UDK and want to build my own modular environment. Just have some questions I'd like to ask, I hope you can help.

1. In your 3D app (3DS max for me) do you create only modular parts for your scene and then fix them together within UDK? ...or fix up your scene in Max using instances and then import it all into UDK in one go, does UDK then read all the instanced parts as modular assets?