Home Technical Talk

Help with dreadlocks technique?

Hey guys!

I'm self taught and working on hair for a 5-6k poly character. Well... he has dreadlocks, which puts me in a bit of a bind. One, I'm not too good with hair in the first place, and two, I'm sortof winging it with nothing but my reference pics and my sketches.

So I brazenly decided to start a sculpt, and figured that the good people here might lend their expertise and tell me how off-base I am later.

Here's the rough, unsmoothed sculpt. I did two layers of dreads, the inner one to bulk up the empty space, and all together it comes up to 570 polys. (Good? Bad? I have no idea.)

DreadlocksRD.jpg

Here's the hair with the model (still a WIP) attached:
DreadlocksRD_Demo.jpg

So. Techniques.

Usually, I see hair feathered with alpha channels, but aside from wispy ends, I don't see that happening here. On my own novice judgment, I'm thinking normal maps and materials will have to do the work. I just noticed that the second layer of 'hair' is peeking out behind that ear-- I'll move that shortly.

Thoughts? Opinions?

Replies

• haikai
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    haikai polycounter lvl 8
    I think what you have could work depending on how important it is for you to have separate dreads. If poly count becomes a concern I think even things like dreadlocks can bake down to a plane with alpha if the normal map is good. Or you could do the best of both worlds where you keep the bulk of it as simple planes where possible, and then model out dreads here and there where they will be more noticeable.

That said, spending 500 or so triangles on hair for a character with a 6k budget doesn't sound too unreasonable to me, but I guess it depends on how the rest of it is distributed (the back of his shoulder there looks particularly low poly).
  • Farfarer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    It seems as good a method as any.