Home Technical Talk

Some advice on character modeling

PnG
PnG
Okay Im pretty new to 3ds max but i understand the basics and i know about the different types of modeling.

Im just wondering what type i should use for certain things. For example lets say i wanted to create this guy http://www.the-blueprints.com/blueprints/humans/humans/34029/view/male_cartoon_character/

Is there a 'best' way to do this.. or does it not matter if its box plane or any other type of way?

Also because i am playing around with UDK aswell.. I see the terms high poly and low poly alot. Ive also heard the term 'bake'. Wondering if anyone could elaborate on them.

thanks for any help you post

Replies

• PnG
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PnG
    Well theres my weekend gone.. cheers
  • sparrow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sparrow polycounter lvl 11
    Hi there PnG.
    To be honest it dose matter which way you model, you have to find what is most conformable for you, with character work you have to make shore you have edge loops this is so the character can be animated. i use a mixer of box moderling , plane and retopologize.

:d

good luck
  • PnG
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PnG
    Okay im with you on box modeling plane modeling.. Im lost on what retopologieze are / is
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Retopo, is the act of taking something that is insanely high poly and unusable in games and creating a low poly version that is optimized and efficient. Typically this is done so you can bake normal maps that are applied to the low poly to make it look like the high.

As for the first question, you really need to answer some questions first.
    Do you have a specific game in mind that if given the chance you would like to see your model included in? That will help you dial in the technical specifications.
    High end FPS on the PC?
    Will they talk, how close does the camera/player get?
    How important are they?