Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Blastoise!

Hi everybody, this is my first time posting work here, and I've just finished a piece that I'm very excited about. This is my Gears of War inspired Blastoise: a mix of the two styles that I thought would be fun. All crits are welcome!

Specs: 8664 tris, two 2k textures (diff, spec, normal)
Software: maya, zbrush, headus, nex, xNormal, photoshop, mudbox, marmoset
blastoiseFrontFlush.jpg

blastoise3q.jpg

blastoiseGatling.jpg

blastoiseSide.jpg

Replies

• Axios
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Axios polycounter lvl 10
    This is pretty cool. I think the head is great and overall the skin is good, just might need some occlusion or something because it feels a little washed out in regards to value. However, if this is Gears of War inspired, then how the guns are mounted on his shell seems awkward. Some Gears monsters have stuff mounted on their back already, and a similar upper body harness on this would be appropriate. Nice work
  • Der Hollander
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Unfortunately you said the magic words "Gears of War inspired" and "Blastoise" so, I'm gonna give a long, harsh critique. You've been warned. Now, I'm not super in love with either of the above things, but it means you're taking a very recognizable character and redesigning it to fit in a recognizable universe.

First, a visual aide.
    Your Blastoise should look like this:
    Gears_of_War_Brumak.jpg

When it looks more like this:
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRiaQQIikxxIwwj1IW03VuPvjlT3CGOtQuOh8bGNe1xKweYXZ62

Gears of War is the definition of over-the-top. If there isn't an insane amount of detail, grunge out the arse, and overall looking like Warhammer 40k and H.R. Giger had mongrel babies, it's not going to sell as "Gears inspired". What you've currently got is more a realistic interpretation of Blastoise.

With that in mind, let's move forward to the technicals.