Home Technical Talk

On Why too much help stunts your growth

Replies

• PogoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PogoP polycounter lvl 10
    Really great post Kevin, very inspiring. It's reading posts like that, that instil confidence in me in my abilities as an aspiring 3D artist.

As a student I see a lot of my fellow students following tutorial after tutorial, following them exactly as they say and then say 'hey look, I made this!' and don't bother with improving it in their own way or experimenting with it and using different techniques.

I tried this at the start of my learning and I remember constantly feeling that whilst I was making good-looking art assets, there was a huge barrier in my way in terms of what I could do. Sure, I could model that tutorial barrel and box really well, but if somebody asked me to model a lamp post or a tractor, I wouldn't have a clue how to go about doing it.

So instead I decided to just jump in, grab shit loads of references and just experiment in Max and just make the thing.

It looked shit in comparison to the tutorial props I made.

But the sense of achievement I had was so much more than when I followed the tutorials. Ever since then, I've chosen to just look at other artists' work for inspiration and to see how their texture maps correspond to their models, and I have looked at other artists' workflows on areas where I need to, such as PhilipK's modularity techniques.

I guess what I'm trying to say is that you need that passion to succeed... That drive to figure out how things work and how different techniques can be used in different situations.

That's just my view on the topic, I'm by no means an expert. I haven't even had a paid job working in the industry yet, I'm still just a student.

Edit - It's a shame that this topic has just turned into a bit of a mortalhuman fest. Though his posts do sum up what Kevin and others have said.
  • Jeremy Tabor
    Options
    Offline / Send Message