Home General Discussion

Ths sculpted-cloth killer app?

Replies

• ENODMI
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ENODMI polycounter lvl 14
    Yeah, this seems to help out with the cloth simulation... but I just see a lot of terrible clothing coming out of it unless style and fit are considered, which is a whole skill set in itself. Just like any good modeling problem, you'll still have to gain some level of understanding before it looks good. Mom pants.
  • [Deleted User]
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    [Deleted User] insane polycounter
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • Justin Meisse
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Justin Meisse polycounter lvl 18
    I guess it's arguing semantics - I'm learning how to be an actual craftsman and it's a very different mindset and process. It's more akin to being a programmer or tech-artist, in fact most of the CNC guys I'm studying under are ex IBM engineers.
  • [Deleted User]
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
  • Kwramm
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kwramm interpolator
    Sandro wrote: »
    Hehe, nice app and I'm sure it will find it's uses, but to me sculpting is lot more enjoyable than making those paper-cut things and stitching them together.

Also, you rarely get to make characters with casual shirts and pair of jeans in videogames. You usually have jacked up guys with bulletproof vests, 40 pockets and belts strapped all over. I guess setting up that complex sim would be quite tedious and time-consuming.

Pretty much what we thought. We really looked into it to cut down production time for final assets, not prototyping.