Home Contests & Challenges Archives Low Poly Challenge

TRON - PLAYER - Pentact

Hey guys, this is my first attempt in a contest and this Tron challenge was interesting enough for me to jump on. I haven't modeled a character for almost 2 years so I wanted this to be a practice for me. I was inspired by The Rocketeer and of course Tron so this is a combination of sorts. Again this is my first entry so please go easy on me! So if I missed anything or if you need more info on the model, let me know :)

nduhd.jpg
xc3fvl.jpg
w0j8kg.jpg
35iayix.jpg
rkd013.jpg

Replies

• Dani
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dani polycounter lvl 9
    Nice work!, really diging the amount of detail in the texture and how violent the character looks. Texture flats would be nice:poly142:.

ps: maybe I'm wrong but the polygon count up top isn't triangles right?
  • renderhjs
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    renderhjs sublime tool
    The model looks a bit blocky and stiff but I really like the texture. There are still plenty of horizontal or vertical aligned edges (that you get from extruding, slicing,...) but they could be more moved in a flow, so that especially with the body you get a more natural motion in the edge flow.

How about some glow pass in the texture around the orange key color?, and maybe some orange glowing highlights or reflections on the rest of the suit from the orange lights?
  • Baddcog
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Baddcog polycounter lvl 9
    Great work. The texture is real nice, but I agree with Render, needs a bit of orange glow reflecting off stuff near the orange bits. That would really make it pop.
  • PenTact
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for comments so far! Yeah I agree on the glow pass. I've been trying to play around with it last night but I can't seem to get the right amount of glow so it won't be too distracting but I'll keep at it.