Home General Discussion

Process of an artistic direction in video game

repstyle
polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
repstyle polycounter lvl 10
hello, I'm an amateur art director working on a video game project going to grow up at a professional level.

by dint of experience gained from many years of researches and participations on some projects, I am able to establish a working methodology to guide my artistic direction.

See it there : http://www.repstyleart.com/gamorgy/index.jpg

But I'm currently facing a problem :

In fact my project leader have a vision and know exactly what he wants in terms of game design and programming but artistically, i don't think.

He has probably a blurred vision of the game but this is not really the problem.

My problem is mostly that my lead thinks that we don't need a backstory to develop a visual identity, but, to do my job, I need it to create an efficient and consistent artistic identity.

He's probably afraid of closing some doors of opportunities and I'm afraid of losing me and wipe me through the endless possibilities.

My project leader then offers extremely wide constraints such that be funny and target an adult audience and he thinks that's enough but not me because it is so subjective and it's not quite on target.

1. Am i wrong ?

2. So I'd like to have your approach in the field, chronologically with the differents steps that will enable you to establish your artistic direction especially in the field of video game.

Thank you for sharing

Replies

• fearian
    Offline / Send Message
    fearian greentooth
    edit: as a disclaimer, I'm not in industry, I'm a student working on my second 'Team project' with a heavy hand in the art direction of our game.