Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] – Lynda Miller

Hello!

My name is Lynda, and I was really hoping for some good critique on my current portfolio. I graduated from DigiPen Institute of Technology in 2009 and, like many people, have had trouble finding steady work. I'm most interested in being a 3D Character Artist and am getting a little hazzy on what I actually need to build up my portfolio (besides simply more ZBrush examples).

Here's my portfolio link: http://www.impdragon.com

Any critique you could offer - particularly on my 2D/3D art itself - would be wonderful. Thanks, guys!

-Lynda

Replies

• haikai
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    haikai polycounter lvl 8
    I noticed you had a model from an Anet concept so this feedback pertains to that particular one:

I think having more detailed textures would help a lot. At the moment most of your textures appear to be pretty generalized such as a local color and then a slight material pattern on top. I recommend going beyond the concept and taking a look at more references and really getting the texture to feel convincing.

Your normal map could also be a bit more detailed. In addition to a finer sculpt, it helps to add a bit of surface noise, especially on a creature like that. Additionally the specular map makes it feel more smooth and shiny than I think it's supposed to be.

Good luck!
  • achillesian
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    feel that this should be in the front, the bug thats currently in the front doesnt have much texture. So use this one for hand painted style along with orc fort, and then make a 10k+ tri human character with norm map probably

3d_terraEther1_LG.jpg
  • fabio brasilien
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    fabio brasilien polycounter lvl 11
    I agree with them...You have to much stuff. And some of them are not the same quality than others.
    In 2D it is critical. Remove some of them, leave like 5 or 10, maybe 15 of your best work.