Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Land Rover Series 3

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Gooner442 polycounter lvl 6
Hi all,

I took a few snaps of this beaten up Land Rover, thought it would make a good project and help improve my modelling skills. I'm not sure of the work flow I should follow for this, I've never done any normal maps before so perhaps this is a good project to give it a go. Any advice or tips on workflow or good tutorials that might help would be appreciated, and of course constructive criticism too!

Obviously I still have a number of things to model and to make it imperfect and less symmetrical, no small details or the interior, so plenty to get on with.

Thanks for reading!

Both_small.jpg
img_1_all.jpg
img_2_all.jpg
img_3_all.jpg

Replies

• Xoliul
    Offline / Send Message
    Xoliul polycounter lvl 14
    http://www.overland.co.za/Land_Rover/Death_Row/

check that out man, superb ref!

Anyway, I think the spacing of the lights in the front is not 100% correct and you a few weird n-gons. Also these rendered wireframes are not as good as simple viewport grabs.
  • Gooner442
    Offline / Send Message
    thanks for the reference and advice!.. I never found anything like that on my search, my landrover looks in good nick compared to those!

I wasn't sure how best to present the WIP, everyone here seems to present their work with a studio setup so I thought I'd try it too. I agree though I think screen grabs will be better for now whilst in the early stages, I've attached one for a clearer picture of what's going on at the front.

Regarding the n-gons, is there a way to scan a model for them?.. I know of something in Maya that does. Also, for something like this that will not be animated are n-gons still a bad thing?

2.jpg
  • Xoliul
    Offline / Send Message
    Hmm, well looking at that wireframe, I would say you don't fully grasp the ideas behind SubD modeling yet.