Home Technical Talk

computer hardware problems - constantly issues

So I've been playing PC games now for like 10 years. I've ALWAYS had crashes/freezes/BSODs but I figured that's part of the PC gaming territory. My older brother, a longer-time gamer says he rarely encounters problems with games and has no clue why I always have computer problems. We both have good knowledge of hardware/software so I know I'm not a moron but I made a mental list a while back of the Games I can play w/o Problems and then The Games I cannot Play due to an insane amount of Problems and thus Unplayable. The Unplayable games far outnumber the Playable games.

To put in in numbers I have about 20 games I like to play a lot

Oblivion
Fallout3
CNC3 Tib Wars
CNC3 KW
Borderlands
COD MW2
COD4
Left 4 dead
Left 4 dead 2
BF BC2
etc

Out of 20 games, I have 4 that can run consistently without any of the problems below. EVER. Which I find interesting and 2 out of the 4 are high-system intense games so they are making the computer work hard but not enough to crash/freeze/BSOD it.

I meet all system reqs for all my games but my main issues that prevent me from long-time play [more than 3 hours straight] are

1. DVI-D signal errors
2. Freeze, needs soft reset
3. CTD [crash to desktop]
4. BSOD [rare but it occurs]

My knowledge on these issues

1. DVI-D signal errors
I only have 1 plug on my monitor [viewsonic VP201b] that fits into my IO slot so that's that. All my Googling has resulted in 'ur using the wrong plug' or that the power supply is not constantly supplying the computer thus the error occurs. More on the power issue later...

2. Freeze, needs soft reset