Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Two Listen

Replies

• acapulco
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    acapulco polycounter lvl 9
    And what are those issues? Should be interesting to know what problems you have in order to help you directly =)
    * The image seems to be cut in half horizontal and vertical.
    * The shapes of the two mountains are too equal, get some variation in size and form
    * Nearly everything tends toward a spikey shape, contrast it with more round (for example) forms
    * The values in the mid and the lower part of the painting seem to have kind of all the same size

OP
    2listenOP.jpg
  • Two Listen
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Two Listen polycount sponsor
    You sir, are the man. Thanks immensely for the feedback.

The issues that I'm encountering are numerous, and just as varied. Primarily it's that a large majority of the stuff in this painting I've got very little experience with. Mountains? Those things are covered in rocks, and rocks are hard. As you can probably tell looking at the previous page, the last thing with any significant environment bits didn't turn out so great from a rocks and mountain standpoint. (Or most standpoints beyond fruity pebble amounts of color, if that counts). Mountains in my head up to this point have pretty much been "those triangles you see in the distance", which is so many kinds of wrong. Including them pretty prominently in this one was to help me fix that mentality. Tackling them and having them look like they might actually have rocks and snow on them was sort of a new thing and took like, six tries to get looking ok. Trees? Most of the trees I've ever implemented into anything have been an afterthought background, and I'm trying to avoid that this time around. Foreground - like, ground and dirt and grass and other things that people closer to the viewer are on top of? I never posted updates on this one due to difficulty with that very thing (well, and also the same r