Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Colt Python-esque revolver for crits

Hello all, this is my first post on Polycount. I'm not much of an artist (yet)--I'm a programmer first, and the game I'm making needs art, so here I am to learn.

I've modeled a revolver for my game, using a bunch of images of Colt Pythons as references, though I changed a few things (used a more conventional cylinder release, didn't vent the top rib, reversed the direction of the cylinder, etc.). I'm pretty happy with the result, but I'm sure there's lots of stuff that could have been done better. What could be improved upon with this model, or what should I do differently on my next model?

In case it wasn't clear, I'm not looking for accuracy against a real Colt Python, but if there's anything generally wrong with the gun, let me know; I'd like to believe this could have been a real weapon, so it shouldn't have any stupid mistakes. I believe the cylinder stops are pointing the correct way for it to turn counter-clockwise (which is opposite the direction a Python turns, as far as I know), but I could use a verification on that.

Things I'm already aware of:
- I wasted a ton of UV space. I know this, and I knew it while I was doing it, but I'm not really sure how I should unwrap to fix this. (I'm using Blender, FWIW.)
- Likewise, I didn't allocate my UV space very well; the rounds in the rear of the cylinder are the most visible high frequency element, and they should've got more space.

Enough gab, on to the images:

High poly:
revolver-for-crits-0.png
revolver-for-crits-1.png
revolver-for-crits-2.png

High poly w/o Subsurf modifier:
revolver-for-crits-3.png
revolver-for-crits-4.png

Low poly:
revolver-for-crits-5.png
revolver-for-crits-6.png

Flats:
revolver-for-crits-7.png
revolver-for-crits-8.png

(There's a spec map, too, but it's basically just the diffuse map again.)

In-game (custom engine):
revolver-for-crits-9.png

Thanks guys!
revolver-for-crits0.png

Replies

• Avanthera
    Options