Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Project Unity

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
BrendtheCow polycounter lvl 8
I'm helping some friends with a game they're working on (Project Unity) mostly doing environment art. I've never used Unity before, though, so any help you could offer would be much appreciated =]. To the best of my knowledge this will be distributed as a browser game, so if you have any suggestions for optimizing texture size/ terrain density/ poly counts (har har) then I'm all ears ^__^

Assets
- Terrain
- Water
- Palm Tree
- Bush
- Castle
- Tower
- Steeple
- Wall Segment
- River Bridge
- Tiled Brick Segment
- Metal Strut Segment
- Metal Girder Pillar
- Pillar Support Chain
Rope Bridge
- Wooden Plank Segment
- Rope Handrail Segment
- Rope Land Anchor Post

So far I've built some terrain in Unity, applied a placeholder grass texture, and I'm starting the assets as soon as I finish with this post =]

gef_fld07_build_01.jpg

Replies

• Justin Meisse
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Justin Meisse polycounter lvl 18
    that terrain is very terraced looking, are you going to weather it at all?
  • BrendtheCow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    It is terraced, but the game is almost top-down. It's a remake/port of Ragnarok Online, so the game's camera will behave similarly. The terrace-ing is more to divide high and low level mobs. Most of the weathering will be handled by textures, to make it look as natural as possible. I did forget to add ramps to get between the levels, though, so I should do that now. Here's the map and some screens from IRO that they have me using for reference:

gef_fild07.gif
    screenValkyrie002.jpg
    screenValkyrie003.jpg
  • Justin Meisse
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Justin Meisse polycounter lvl 18
    hmm, looks like instead of using the ragnarok map for reference you are making a 1:1 recreation.
  • BrendtheCow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message