Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Prague Square Enviorment WIP

null
Offline / Send Message
Kylen null
Hello,

This is my first environment implemented into the Unreal Engine. It is based it off a photo a friend of mine took in Prague. So far I have modeled all the low poly assets in Maya and created diffuse texture sheets for each building. Only what is seen from the camera angle has been modeled.

pragueunreal.jpg

pragueref.jpg

Things to do:
-High poly geometry pass on the building in the foreground
-Specular and normal maps
-Textures for the street and sidewalk
-Improve lighting and shadows

Comments are most appreciated. Some areas of knowledge I am looking to improve with this project are a proper workflow from low poly to zbrush and improved texturing techniques (specifically proper utilization of spec maps). I am experiencing issues with maintaining hardsurface form when I subdivide in zbrush. Also I am new to normal map creation and will be working to gain a better handle on them.

Replies

• SouthpawSid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SouthpawSid polycounter lvl 7
    the modeling looks great to me. Should be a cool scene! Some HP work and a good normals map on the foreground building will for sure add the pop it needs. As will the detail on the sidewalk. I'm not sure how you taking the lighting but I would push more contrast in the lighting a bit and some stronger shadows. Is this a view port grab or baked out lighting?
  • duxun
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    add more polys to the building in the foreground to pop out the shapes like in your reference image. keep at it .
  • TheBat
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    TheBat polycounter lvl 10
    Looks awesome! I even recognize the place because i've been to Prague 5 times or something (this is a good thing).