Home Technical Talk

Need advice for demoreel

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Will Faucher polycounter lvl 12
Hey,
I am currently a student in 3D art for games, and I have lately started working on my first demoreel. However, I need some advice coming from people with alot of experience in the industry.
I am now modelling my entire scene and character model in 3ds max. I plan on making a short (but sweet) film of about 30-35 seconds. Now, my teachers told me it would be best to render it all in Max. I thought this was a good plan, since it gives me access to Global Illumination and Final Gather. However, a friend of mine who works in the game industry told me it would be best to import my scene and my character into the Unreal Engine 3, and film it in realtime.

Which would be best? What are the advantages and disadvantages of each? Which would be more impressive and have a higher chance of landing myself a job?

Thank you very much! All help is appreciated!

Replies

• Ben Apuna
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    If you've got the time to learn new tools and workflows and intend to work in games then go ahead and make your demo reel with UDK. UDK has lightmass so now there's really no reason to do traditional renders just for global illumination.

On the other hand, if time's short and you just need to get it done to pass the class then render it all in Max. You will still have the assets in the end and can explore porting it to UDK in the future when you have more time.

Somewhat off topic from you post, it sounds like you are not specializing in any particular area of game art, that's probably a bad idea... I could be wrong in assuming that so I won't go into it here. If you want more info on that topic just PM me.
  • Will Faucher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message