Home Technical Talk

photoshop: regular or extended

Google just punched me in the face a bunch. I am a hobbyist that uses modo and zbrush. I've been using free 2d graphic applications, but I'm looking into getting photoshop. The plan is to use PS for generating support images for modeling, concept artwork, and some presentation stuff. The extended version seems to have nice 3d capabilities, but so does my other friggin 3d software. Since I know nothing, does anyone use extended? Hands down prefer extended to the regular version? Am I missing the big picture?

Replies

• Tom Ellis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Here's a page that shows you the differences:

http://www.adobe.com/products/photoshop/compare/

To be honest, I never use the 3D tools in Photoshop. I get the impression it's kind of a '3D for the non-3D minded' thing. It seems to be getting more powerful each release but as it stands, I wouldn't think it will replace your current workflow.

If you want to use Photoshop for image editing, painting etc, I'd go with the Standard version, you might even consider Photoshop Elements! It's basic and lacking a lot of features, but you can still paint with it!
  • peppi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    peppi polycounter lvl 18
    The 3D stuff in CS4 Extended isn't really there yet, interface and performance wise. Also you might want to consider getting an older version as CS4 is generally quite slow to work with (and had issues with Nv dual view last time I checked).
  • Lamont
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lamont polycounter lvl 15
    Don't get screwed, just get regular, better yet look on eBay for CS3 or CS2.

EDIT - I got wind of some hardware vendor selling CS4 with some kind of video editing hardware. Gonna go look and see if I can find it. It's a good way to get in on Adobe software on the cheap. ($300 hardware for CS4 bundle)
  • renderhjs
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    renderhjs sublime tool