Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Hello! I'm new

Hello Everyone,

My name is Mettle, I am student in Game Design but I am learning to model in 3ds max and just learning Z-brush. I'm very new to these forums but I felt that I could really learn from people here because everyone seems very skilled. This is my first attempt in using z-brush by following a tutorial off the book "Z-brush Character Creation by Scott Spencer". I would love to get some advice to know what I should concentrate on so I can learn basics and and work towards becoming very efficient in z-brush. Thanks

lion_front1.jpg

lion_side.jpg

Replies

• killingpeople
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    killingpeople polycounter lvl 18
    hi, welcome to polycount. keep it up, the more you do it, the better you get.
  • mathes
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Welcome to PC. I used the same book to learn Zbrush; just keep working through it and you'll get better. My lion was pretty hideous, being my first sculpt and all.
  • Rens
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Oi,

My advice would be "dont be hasty"

Get a good look at technical aspects and get the basics down.
    And when building something, focus on the structure, shapes and looks.

Make sure to take a step back now and then, and really look for things you can still work on.
    How does this look, study it and compare it to what you are building.

If you learn how to shape things, build good proportions and learn how to criticise your own work, compare it, you will find it rewarding later on.

One thing you should not do, is gettin a stopwatch and try to work against the clock.
    Alot of people that start out think like "hey, they need to build this in 2 days and i take 2 weeks", when you start doing that, you will miss out on learning and eventualy take longer, they get these crazy oh gawd i cannot do this moments and freak out.

Take your time to dig into it, enjoy and ask alot.
  • DarthNater
    Options