Home Technical Talk

Ambient Occlusion help

Hello again averyone, I've stumbled onto another issue.

I'm not too experienced when it comes to Ambient Occlusion maps and game art making.

Some questions:
What do I do with my AO map?
I've baked the map, it looks good, and it looks good when put in the Diffuse or Specularity slots on my shader in max.

But then what? This is where I'm confused.

What happens next?

Am I suppose to blend it into my Diffuse map? Is it suppose to be blended into my Specularity map?

Is it a seperate map altogether? Meaning I need to get a DX 9 shader with an AO slot?

If the latter, anyone have a good technique to apply an AO into a Diffuse? Or AO to a specularity? Tutorial perhaps (I tried doing things like overlay and so on in PS but didn't turn out good)

If the former, anyone have a DX9 shader that also does AOs seperately?

Sorry for all the noob questions, but I'm still learning some of this extended stuff. I come from game development that was just low poly, single 256 texture models, guraud shaded, and now I'm trying to learn to do the more advanced stuff (Normals, Specularity, AO, parallax mapping, etc).

Thanks in advance.

Replies

• Ben Apuna
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Depending on the situation what you probably want to do is multiply the AO as a layer in photoshop over your diffuse and possibly specular map as well.

In some cases however the AO needs to be a separate map, for example when you've done a lot of tiling and stacking with the diffuse and spec maps to keep the texture's pixel density high but the object has lots of unique areas of shading.
  • helldiver
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ben Apuna wrote: »
    Depending on the situation what you probably want to do is multiply the AO as a layer in photoshop over your diffuse and possibly specular map as well.