Home Contests & Challenges Archives

UC'09 "END GAME" | TEAM UPDRAFT | 3D

Replies

• crazyfingers
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    crazyfingers polycounter lvl 10
    ARG! I know why, thanks for the post divi. It doesn't have anything to do with the normal, it's because my diffuse and spec UV's aren't yet laid out to tile... I'm a noob :P. Oh, well i can set that up as i set up the UV's for light maps.

Oh, and ZacD: Totally hear you. In fact now that you mention it the next thing i'll be doing is extending the concept to expose more canvas. As much as i'm over the 2d it needs to be done so we know where we're headed.
  • divi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    divi polycounter lvl 12
    http://udn.epicgames.com/Three/LightMapUnwrapping.html

that's what i was referring to.

sneaky workflow you've got there with reusing spec and dif, but wouldn't it be "better" do have individual textures for the stuff? i mean, i'm not saying that it looks bad, quite the contrary, but since you use unique normal maps why not have dif and spec aswell, since you are allowed the same amount of texture space for each of them. but that's probably something you could always do later on if necessary.

keep it up :) i really like your entry
  • crazyfingers
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yea, we'll be polishing these things up as we move along, may keep base textures but at the very least we'll be creating unique grunge textures for each peice, like a bird poo texture for exampe ;). Right now we're In a mad dash to just get everything in so we can see where we need to push textures.

Doing lots of tweaks in UT3 as well, the material editor in that game is amazing. Couple adjustments to tiling, multiplication, etc and you can get some very different texture from the same one!