Home Technical Talk

Are normal maps always necessary?

Hi there,

I'm still a beginner, so I've got a beginners question.

Is it always necessary to bake a normal map when creating hard surface models for games?

I'll always bake a normal map for organic stuff, characters etc, and up until now I usually do on my hard surface models, but it seems to be slowing down my workflow a lot for the sake of minor details.

Lets say you have a piece of machinery where the only real details that would benefit from a NM are some rivets and bolts, is it worth making the high poly version, and setting the projection/cage just for what is essentially 5% of the finished piece?

Or is it acceptable (when I say acceptable I mean generally, in the games industry, or by your own workflow) to just bevel hard edges and create a normal map from the diffuse?

I know I haven't explained that very well, but going back to the rivets/bolts thing, I find I can create a reasonable NM from the diffuse which seems to give good results.

Many thanks

Replies

• CompanionCube
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    CompanionCube polycounter lvl 12
    you don't have to always make high poly models to create normal map. alot of normal maps are still created or added to by either painting greyscale images or using photos/images and converting them into normal maps using something like the Nvidia plugins for photoshop, or a program like crazy bump and even xnormal has a photoshop plugin.
  • Tom Ellis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the reply Companion,

As I said in my OP, I have created normal maps by simply reworking the diffuse/spec and running them through Crazybump, just that as I'm still very new to creating game art, I wasn't sure if this was the wrong way to go.

Thanks
  • Mimp
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hello Creation22
    Is it always necessary to bake a normal map when creating hard surface models for games?