Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Warhammer AXE - First 3dMax Model

mod
Ok, so If any of you have wandered over to the technical forums, You'd see I started to learn 3d Max. We use Maya in school, and ive been using it for 2 years now, so this was a bit of a challenge. But, im starting to get the hang of it. And, well, im liking it WAY more than maya for modelling.

Anyways, heres my first high poly weapon i did in max. I think i was working on it for probably close to 8 hours (i know, LONG time, but I was learning max as i went, watching tutorials, getting help from poly counters, etc). My next step is to do a low poly model and learn the art of baking.

Here is the reference i used. A concept for an axe for the white lion in Warhammer online. A game I use to play ALOT.

http://www.mmolecule.com/ektimages/game/war/WAR_HE_Axe01.jpg

AxeShow.jpg

Any C&C would be extremely welcomed. (and im not sure why im getting the pixel effect. Ill have to work on that

Replies

• Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    wow that's pretty good for a first time around in max, you did that pretty fast too. Just goes to show, talent translates. Not sure how the wires look or if its prepped for Zbrush or not but I think you could get some awesome details added to it before heading off to start a diffuse.
  • slipsius
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    slipsius mod
    Small Update.....

after alot of struggles, i finally got this zBrushed and back into max. I had issues with it because in order to get the smooth lines i wanted on the blade, i needed to D it up ALOT, but then when i brought it back into max, it was too much and froze. so, instead of brining the entire thing into zBrush, i only brought the blade. since the rest looks fine and doesnt need more divisions anyways. on that note, is there a way to give more memory to max like you can in zBrush?