Home General Discussion

Starting out - Advice welcome!

Hey guys,

My names Matt. I'm relatively new to the 3D art scene, having studied 2d art and accidently stumbled across 3D through a couple of inspired guys in my tafe course - and so far it kicks ass.....just quietly.
Now im studying 3d art part time (working in mostly 3ds and mudbox).

I found polycount through a few dominace war submitions, and it seems like the place to be...inspiring, motivating and full of really constructive commentary.

So yeah, i just thought id introduce myself and ask for a little advice what some of you guys did to get as good as you are now - certain tutorials, sources of inspiration, competitions to enter, stuff like that.

I'll definetly have some of my work up soon ^^

Cya round.

Replies

• tanka
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    tanka polycounter lvl 12
    Tafe hey? Australian? Where are you studying?

Welcome to Polycount. :)
  • MagicSugar
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MagicSugar polycounter lvl 10
    Savior wrote: »
    So yeah, i just thought id introduce myself and ask for a little advice what some of you guys did to get as good as you are now

"A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step."
  • adam
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    adam polycounter lvl 19
    If I could say anything about moving forward, its to get involved in a community - much like you've just started to do.

Polycount's a great place to learn, but you have to put in the effort just as much as everyone else here. Simply lurking, IMO, isn't enough. You need to contribute, ask questions, offer insight yourself, critique others, ask for critisism, etc. Pay it forward, and it'll come right back at you. It's what I did (no schooling) and I've been in the business now for 5 years.
  • aesir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    aesir polycounter lvl 18