Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] – Nick Metcalf, Character Artist

Hey guys,

I'm graduating from my school (Webster University) in the next week. I chose to create a Portfolio website to display my work as my senior overview.

My website is at: http://nickjmetcalf.com

Just a background: Like many of you I'm self-taught in this stuff; my school offers 2 courses in 3d. One of which I skipped b/c it was intro, and the other "advanced" course was not as advanced as I was hoping it would be. I took this during my senior year.

So I've had slim-to-none guidance on the majority of this project, but I've gotten some nuggets on the site's design from a cool professor.

I'm really looking for any help I might get from you guys though. I'm very worried that it's not going to be able to get me a job. But with some guidance from whoever's awesome enough to respond I'll be reworking this as long as I have to after I graduate, content and/or site.

So please feel free to beat me into the ground :poly122:

Replies

• Art-Machine
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'll bite the bullet and say it : The reason nobody is replying is because we all know you won't cut it in character yet, and nobody wants to be the one to tell you.

You sure look like you know the workflow, but your skill at making professional style characters is just not there yet and comes with time of making more on your spare time.

My advice to you is get your start as a texture artist or environment modeler. Make a portfolio that revolves around props and environment textures. Or go in the animation direction if you want. Because to be very honest I don't see any non-shady companies hiring you for character work at this point in your development.

Sorry if this is tough to swallow, but I'd hate to see you wait around for years wondering why you're not getting hired.
  • BradMyers82
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BradMyers82 interpolator